Neither/Nor Records

Moritz/Ali/Costa, Estuary (n/n 014)



       Order digital downloads & CDs

After having collaborated in a variety of contexts for a few years, in 2017 Jonathan Moritz, Sean Ali and Carlo Costa started to perform regularly as a trio and over time honed a distinctive sound. Although the band's instrumentation suggests a classic free jazz saxophone trio, space and slow development take a central role in their textural abstractions.

"Estuary", the trio's first album, was recorded on a hot summer afternoon in an old warehouse overlooking the New York Bay in south Brooklyn.


Jonathan Moritz - tenor and soprano saxophones

Sean Ali - double bass

Carlo Costa - percussion

Recorded by Nathaniel Morgan at Buckminster Forest Brooklyn, NY on June 15th , 2018. Mixed and mastered by Nathaniel Morgan. All music by Jonathan Moritz, Sean Ali and Carlo Costa. Artwork and design by Carlo Costa.

Release date: September 18, 2020.


Brian Olewnick

A very good new release, 'Estuary' from the trio of Jonathan Moritz (soprano and tenor  saxophones), Sean Ali (double bass) and Carlo Costa (percussion) on Neither/Nor Records. Spacious and spare improv, very sensitive and restrained, subtle tensions abounding. good stuff.”